Let’s Hear It for the Boy

I know that many of my blog posts feature my husband in the role of lovable goof.  People have asked me what Steve thinks of my blog.  The answer is, he thinks it is hilarious.  Lovable goof is a role he is happy to play. He even suggests topics for me now when he does something less than brilliant.  I hope that my posts convey a lighthearted tone in my complaining about Steve, because the truth is, he is a pretty kick a** husband.

Steve was a rock star this Christmas.  He decorated the hell out of the outside of our house with bright LED Christmas lights (no matter that before he left to go shopping for lights, I asked that he please DO NOT buy the neon LED lights, but just traditional white lights).  Katie loved it and I learned to live with the front of my house looking like a dive bar.

When it comes to presents, you will not find a more generous gift giver than my husband. Our girls will always be spoiled on Christmas morning, and there will never be any complaining about the amount of money I spend on Christmas.  I got a beautiful necklace engraved with the girls’ names and birthstones in addition to a watch this year.

My favorite thing about my husband at Christmas, besides his generosity, is his excitement. He still acts like a big kid at Christmas, and it is awesome.  I wanted to do something really nice for Steve this year, so I decided to buy him a snow blower (we have a long driveway, which he has been hand shoveling for 12 winters now).  He LOVES it and couldn’t be happier with his present.

I think there is a valuable lesson here for husbands:  If you are wonderful and generous and buy your wife jewelry, she will reward you with a gift that guarantees you a lifetime of winter chores.

Leave a comment